Chicken & Bacon Crispy Pancakes

On 29th February 2016, This was Dinner

I had the day off today, and such a productive day it was. A nice walk with the dog boss, a reorganisation of my wardrobe, a good sort of all my food magazines and a man came and cleaned my oven so it looks like new!

Now I suppose I can’t complain as I haven’t had one in a lot of quite a few years. When I decided to research whether you could still buy the Findus Crispy Pancake (a staple of my youth) I found this recent shocking piece of information. Yes, the demise of the crispy pancake is not only imminent, it has probably already happened.

So if there are any disappointed crispy pancake lovers out there, this recipe is for you, but you might need a little longer than 15 minutes along side your oven chips!

I actually cooked the filling on Sunday then made them on Monday. The mixture needs chilling time so I would suggest this unless you have all day.

Get set…

  • Finely chop an onion
  • Finely chop some chestnut mushrooms
  • Chop some parskey
  • Whizz up a couple of slices of bread (without the crusts) for breadcrumbs
  • Sift 100g plain flour into a bowl
  • Measure out 550ml milk
  • Beat an egg and get 2 others ready
  • Get smoked bacon lardons, chicken breasts, flour, oil & seasoning ready
  • When ready preheat the oven to 180°c (fan)

Throw it together…

Poach the chicken breasts in boiling water for about 17 minutes or until cooked. Remove and set aside.

Heat a pan and cook the bacon lardons until starting to crisp. Remove and set aside.

Add a little oil to the pan if required and cook the onion for five minutes. Add the mushrooms and cook for around 10 more minutes until the mushrooms are done.

Stir in a couple of tablespoons of flour and cook for a minute then add 400ml of the milk a little at a time, stirring constantly. Bring to a gentle boil to thicken a little, a couple of minutes should do. Season.

Chop the chicken into small pieces and add to the pan along with the bacon lardons and parsley. Mix well then leave to cool. When cool, transfer to a dish, cover and chill.

Make the pancakes by adding some salt to the sifted flour and then make a well and crack in both of the eggs. Mix together then slowly add the remaining 150ml milk and whisk to a thin batter.

Heat a frying pan and add just under a ladleful to the pan. Swirl around quickly to cover the surface. When the bottom is golden, flip and cook the other side. Make three more, you should just have enough.

Brush egg around the edges of the pancakes then pop the chicken mixture in the middle. Fold over and press together.

Pop on a baking tray and brush with more egg, sprinkle with breadcrumbs and back for about 20 minutes.

Dish it up…

Well I would have served them with baked beans but Mr S wasn’t bothered so I didn’t open a tin just for me. They are very filling so I’m glad I didn’t bother with chips.

TWD_2902_Crispy_Pancakes

You can find the BBC Good Food recipe here.

I really enjoyed these but I’m not sure I would bother again. Two things to mention. I thought there was far too much filling for the pancakes (but then I didn’t measure anything other than stated and my chicken breasts were HUGE) and my edges would not stick.

2 thoughts on “Chicken & Bacon Crispy Pancakes

Any thoughts?

