Sweet & Sour Chicken Adobo

On 7th February 2016, This was Dinner

I have to admit to being an pyjama addict. Although if you’ve seen the news this week about the headmistress asking parents not to wear them to school – I’m not that bad. But I will happily get up on a Sunday morning, shower, and pop on a fresh pair.

So I was really angry with myself when I came to make this and realised I didn’t have any coconut milk. I could have made something else but I really wanted to make it as per the recipe. So I resigned myself to putting ‘proper’ clothes on getting dressed and popped to the shops. Mr S chopped everything up whilst I was out.

It turns out I had written the ingredients down from 2 separate recipes in BBC Good Food magazine. Whoops!

I can’t say I had heard of Adobo before so I looked it up and Wikipedia states ‘Philippine Adobo is a popular dish and cooking process in Philippine cuisine that involves meat, seafood, or vegetables marinated in vinegar, soy sauce, and garlic, which is browned in oil, and simmered in the marinade.’ Well there was no marinating with this recipe.

This cooks for quite a while so I made a cake in the meantime.

Get set…

  • Trim and halve some skinless chicken thighs
  • Roughly chop an onion into chunks
  • Crush and chop 5 garlic cloves
  • Deseed and roughly chop a couple of red peppers
  • Slice a red chilli
  • Season some cornflour
  • Get coconut milk, light soy sauce,white wine vinegar, light brown sugar, bay leaves, oil & seasoning ready

Throw it together…

Toss the chicken pieces in the cornflour.

Heat the oil in a pan and brown the chicken in batches. Pop to one side.

Make sure there is still some oil in the pan and add the onion, garlic, chilli and peppers. Cook for a few minutes.

Add the soy, vinegar and sugar and stir well. Add the chicken then pour in the coconut milk and season well. Give it all a good stir.

Get it up to a bit of a simmer then pop the lid on, reduce the heat and cook for about two hours. Stirring occasionally. Add a little water from time to time if required.

You might want to leave the lid off for the last 15 minutes to let the sauce thicken up.

Dish it up…

This serving was for the photo only. Serve with whatever you prefer. We sliced, parboiled and roasted some potatoes in goose fat.

TWD_0702_Abodo.jpg

Find the original recipe here.  I can’t recommend this dish enough. We had loads left for Monday and just cooked some rice and stirred it through as the chicken just fell apart.

I have to give a special mention to the chips I had in The Leopard in Doncaster yesterday. It’s rare to get home cooked chips these days I’m sure.

2016-02-08 13.13.11_resized

The chilli sauce that came with the hot dogs what HOT HOT HOT! Just the way I like it. In a complete coincidence I bought some banana hot sauce on Saturday which also originates in the Philippines.

 

5 thoughts on “Sweet & Sour Chicken Adobo

  1. Sounds lovely – I’ve gigged at The Leopard in Doncaster (from that area!) Before but never tried there food. Will have to! I love homemade PROPER chips! X

      1. Ahhh. I will have to try. Yeah, never known The Leopard as somewhere to eat really as it was always a bit of a dive but must of improved since my last visit! Will go soon. Thanks for the follow too! 🙂 X

Any thoughts?

