Country Beef Casserole with Dumplings

On 24th January 2016, This was Dinner

In 2016 I decided that I was going to try and keep track of what I read. I’m interested to see how many books I read in a year. The only problem is, I now want to pick up a book constantly to push myself. I’m on my third book so far, not bad considering I only read on my commute.

I started the year off with Joe Hart’s The River is Dark, then read Into Darkness by Anton Gill and am currently reading Next Stop Execution, The Auto Biography of Oleg Gordievsky. Let’s see what I can do.

I was very good today and made a soup to freeze before I made this casserole. This was a big old casserole for two people but at least it meant we have leftovers for a quick dinner on Monday.

In between stirs, I finally got around to sorting my food magazines. I always tear out the recipes that appeal to me and recycle the rest of the mag but I’ve not done any since last February which happens to coincide with the arrival of the four-legged, curly one!

For this meal I bought a tray of braising steak for a fiver and cut it into bite sized pieces as they were thin-ish steaks rather than chunks.

Get set…

  • Peel & chop some potatoes into chunks
  • Peel & chop some parsnips into chunks
  • Peel & chop some swede into chunks
  • Peel & chop some carrots into thick slices
  • Peel & thickly chop a large onion
  • If not bought as stewing steak, cut the braising steak into pieces
  • Sift 140g self raising flour
  • Prepare some beef stock
  • Preheat the oven to 160°c (fan)
  • Get 60g suet, dried thyme, dried parsley, chopped tomatoes (can), plain flour, oil & seasoning ready

Throw it together…

Heat some oil in a large oven proof casserole pan. Brown the meat off in batches and remove and set aside.

Add a little more oil if required and add the onion and all of the vegetables. Cook for about 5-10 minutes, making sure you stir regularly and the veg doesn’t catch and burn.

Add about a tablespoon of plain flour and a sprinkle of the dried herbs.

Pour in the tomatoes, the stock and some seasoning. Bring to the boil then add the beef and pop the lid on and transfer to the oven. Cook for a couple of hours, stirring now and then.

Pop the sifted flour into a bowl and add the suet and some more dried herbs. Add enough cold water to make into a dough then form into about 16 small balls.

When the two hours is up, pop the dumplings on top of the stew and cook for another 20-25 minutes.

Dish it up…

Stick it in a bowl being careful to leave your dumplings on top.

TWD_2401_Beef_Srew

You definitely get your five a day with this one!

I don’t think there is a single meal on this weeks list that I am not really looking forward to. As it is, I will have to postpone a couple as I’m up one with the leftovers from this and we have to go somewhere on Friday so won’t be eating at home.

This recipe is a Mary Berry recipe from this cook book here which is, shockingly in sale here for ridiculous money.

2 thoughts on “Country Beef Casserole with Dumplings

Any thoughts?

