Chicken Thighs with Olives & Chickpeas

On 14th January 2016, This was dinner

I’ve updated my ‘About‘ page. I thought it was time as I’ve been blogging for almost three years now. I was going to keep it nice and short but as usual, I got carried away.

I’m still using up stuff in the pantry and I had a load of dried chickpeas so I cooked them last night to use in this recipe, I still had to buy the other ingredients so not as much of a budget meal as the previous 2 nights.

Preparing:

  • Preheat the oven to 190°c (fan)
  • Finely chop an onion
  • Bash a couple of garlic cloves
  • Finely chop a chilli
  • Halve some green (or black) olives
  • Trim some chicken thighs
  • Get smoked paprika, chopped tomatoes (tinned), chickpeas, red wine vinegar, olive oil & seasoning ready.

Making:

Pop the chicken in a bow l and add smoked paprika along with the oil and seasoning. Get your hands in there and give it a good rub.

Transfer the chicken to a roasting dish and stick them in the oven for 15 minutes.

Heat some oil in a pan and gently fry the onion. Add the chilli, tomatoes,chickpeas and vinegar, season and cook to reduce a little.

Add to the chicken along with the olives for another 15 to 20 minutes, ensuring your chicken is cooked through.

TWD_Chicken_Chickpeas.jpg

I also chucked in a couple of stray jalapeños. Serve with a dollop of sour cream and some garlic bread.

The original Delicious magazine recipe can be found here. Mr S went to the market and I hadn’t specified to buy skin on thighs so we dropped the ‘crispy’ bit.

Any thoughts?

