Chardonnay Chicken

On 29th September 2015, This was Dinner

I’m still on a reminiscing roll here. Chicken in white wine sauce was a regular meal in our house back in the day. It would have always been chicken breast as thighs were definitely not in fashion and the sauce of choice was Homepride not home made. It always went down a treat. I wonder how much actual wine went into it? Well 300ml went into this one. I had to grit my teeth as I poured it in 😉

This is a dish from one of my new books bought on the cheap from WH Smiths. Mary Berry’s Cook Now Eat Later.

Mary Berry is a national institution isn’t she. I have her to thank for Prawn Tacos and Salmon Tranches amongst others. I’ve watched Great British Bake Off sporadically over the last couple of years but this year I’m hooked. Team Nadiya all the way, I love her facial expressions. I’ve never been a fan of the competitive cooking show, it takes all the love of the food out of it. I can’t stand Masterchef (probably the hosts) but even though I’m not a huge fan of Paul Hollywood the whole theatrics of this program just work.

Back to the dish. I have waffled a lot on these last few posts.

Preparing:

  • Remove the skin from some bone-in chicken thighs
  • Roughly chop an onion
  • Crush a couple of garlic cloves
  • Quarter some chestnut mushrooms
  • Drain a can of artichoke hearts
  • Roughly chop a little parsley
  • Get butter, caster sugar, plain flour, crème fraîche, oil & seasoning ready

Making:

Season the chicken. Pop a little oil and butter in a pan and brown the the thighs on both sides. Remove and set aside.

Add the onion and garlic to the pan and cook for around 10 minutes until softened. Sprinkle over a little sugar and stir.

Turn up the heat and as the onions start to brown add the plain flour and stir for a minute. Pour in the wine and stir well, allowing the sauce to thicken.

Pop the chicken back into the pan and add the mushrooms. Turn down to a simmer and cook for about 40 minutes ensuring the chicken is cooked through.

Add the crème fraîche and season if required. Sprinkle with the parsley.

I served it with a delicious sunflower spelt bread from Sainsburys. It would have been great with mash too.

TWD_2909_Chard_Chick

Any thoughts?

