Thai Inspired Fish & Chips

On 5th August 2015, This was Dinner

It seems I’m ploughing through the Donna Hay recipes. This one caught my eye after enjoying my very first full baked sea bass, I thought I’d do it again. And look, it’s more sweet potatoes.

I did do mine differently as I preferred to bake the sea bass.

Preparing:

  • Grate some ginger
  • Zest and juice a lime
  • Finely slice a red chilli
  • Finely slice a couple of sweet potatoes (I used a mandolin)
  • Pick a couple of coriander leaves
  • Preheat the oven to 190ºc (fan)
  • Get fish sauce, vegetable oil & seasoning ready

Making:

Oil and season the fish, squeeze over a little lime juice and pop in a baking dish and cook for 20-25 minutes.

Pop some oil (around 1cm high) in a large frying pan. Heat the oil and cook the potato pieces until crisp. Remove with a slotted spoon and allow to drain on kitchen paper,. sprinkling with a little salt as you go.

Mix the chilli and ginger with some oil, caster sugar and fish sauce and serve drizzled over the fish. Garnish with a couple of coriander leaves.

TWD_0508_Fish_Chips

Any thoughts?

