Quick Scaloppine with Roastini

On 29th June 2015, This was Dinner

This is a Nigella recipe from her ‘Kitchen’ book. I picked it as I really wanted to give the gnocchi roasting a go. There were two issues – Should I par boil mine ?(Nigella doesn’t but then I reckon she buys the finest quality and mine’s from Morrisons) and I’d ran out of olive oil!

I decided to par boil my gnocchi and sparingly use vegetable oil.

I used some pork chops I had in the freezer for this. According to Wikipedia:

Scaloppine is an Italian dish consisting of thinly sliced meat (most often veal, although chicken may also be used) that is dredged in wheat flour,sautéed, then heated and served with a tomato-, or wine-sauce; or piccata, which denotes a caper and lemon sauce.

Well I used pork and there was no sauce whatsoever so not definitively a scaloppine. I suppose that’s why Nigella calls hers ‘Speedy’.

Preparing:

  • Remove the bones from some pork chops.
  • Par boil some gnocchi
  • Get a mixture of spices ready*
  • Preheat the oven to 190ºc (fan)
  • Get gnocchi, plain flour, oil and seasoning ready

Making:

Cover the pork in cling film and bash until thin.

Pop the flour in a bag and add a pinch of your chosen spices. Get creative, I can’t remember what I used but there was definitely cayenne and paprika in there. Add a little salt and shake well.

Pop the pork inside the bag and shake to coat.

Pop the gnocchi in a baking tray and coat with oil and seasoning. Bake in the oven for about 25 minutes.

Heat some oil in a pan and cook the pork on each side. I did mine for about three minutes each side.

TWD_2906_ScaloppineServe with some peas.

When I do the roastini again I will definitely use olive oil and heat then baking tray first. I lost a few to the bottom of the pan.

* Nigella uses mixed spices in her recipe.

2 thoughts on “Quick Scaloppine with Roastini

Any thoughts?

