Mexican Chicken & Squash with Pepita Pesto

On 23rd to 28th May 2015, This was Dinner

A triple whammy of chicken (they were chicken pies on Thursday) and four days of poultry, Mr S was in heaven!

There are some dishes I see when I buy a magazine or a cookbook where I know immediately that I am going to make them. This Delicious Magazine recipe was one of them.

What is pepita pesto? Well as far as I can see it seems to be the fact that it is made with pumpkin seeds.

Contains a couple of hours marinating time.

Preparing:

  • Cut a couple of chicken breast and thighs into large pieces
  • Pick some thyme leaves
  • Juice 2 limes
  • Juice half an orange
  • Cut up a butternut squash into pieces
  • Toast some pumpkin seeds
  • Chop some garlic cloves
  • Finely chop a red chilli
  • Preheat the oven to 170ºc (fan)
  • Get soft brown sugar, dried oregano, ground cumin, ground allspice, olive oil, extra virgin olive oil, feta, coriander, cashew nuts & seasoning ready

Making:

Mix the sugar, thyme, oregano, cumin and allspice with olive oil, the orange juice and half the lime juice. Season well and pour over the chicken pieces. Cover and pop in the fridge for a couple of hours.

Pop the pumpkin seeds in a processor along with the coriander, cashews, garlic, remaining lime juice and extra virgin olive oil. Whizz it up then add the chilli.

Pop the chicken in a roasting dish and add the squash. Toss well adding a little oil if required and roast for about 40 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.

Spoon over the pesto and crumble over the feta. Add a little more chopped chilli.

I served some nachos with ours.

TWD_2305_Pepito_ChickenIt didn’t disappoint, it was very good but Mr S and I disagreed on which was best, last nights or this. I chose this.

Bank Holidays will always bring out our naughty side and for the next 2 days we ate takeaway. Pizza on Sunday, Chinese takeaway on Monday.

It was just Walter & me on Tuesday as we have my sister-in-law and niece coming to stay for a few days so Mr S went to pick them up. It’s the first time we stayed away from each other in forever!

I ate the Chinese takeaway leftovers for dinner, there wasn’t a lot so I called it my Tinese. We lain on the sofa and watched three episodes of Empire on demand. I’m hooked.

I’m really angry with myself that I didn’t take a photo of the Spaghetti Bolognese we made on Wednesday night. We being myself and Layla who loves helping in the kitchen. So much so that we decided to bake a cake on Friday.

Any thoughts?

