Kedgeree & Pea Purée on Toast

On 2nd to 6th May 2015, This was Dinner

I’ve had this bookmarked for ages and was really looking forward to finally having this twist on the kedgeree. Unfortunately, after spending some time baking I didn’t feel very well and I only ate a few mouthfuls. And no – I wasn’t picking at the baked goods.

Preparing:

  • Boil some eggs to get a nice gloopy yolk consistency (in boiling water, 7 mins should be good)
  • Chop an onion
  • Cook some frozen peas (ok to cool)
  • Slice some nice bread
  • Get haddock fillets, curry powder, butter & seasoning ready

Making:

Cover the haddock fillets with water, bring to a simmer then poach for about 7 minutes, depending on the thickness of your fish. Drain when cooked through, reserving a little of the water.

Gently melt a little butter then add the onion. Cook until softened then add the curry powder and cook for a minute more.

Whizz up the peas in a processor along with a little of the reserved water.

Toast the bread and then top with the pea purée and a some onion mixture. Place the fish on top, along with the quartered eggs.

I also felt really bad leaving at as Mr S made it for us as I’d run out of steam.

The original Delicious magazine recipe can be found here.

TWD_0205_Pea_Puree_Kedgeree

On Sunday we went to a party at my Aunties. She was showing off her new, very nice, kitchen. I made prawn vol-au-vents, mushroom vol-au-vents and this very, very rich Brooklyn Blackout cake.

Brooklyn Blackout

On Monday I thought I was a little hungover from the party but oddly enough, I didn’t even eat the staple of the hangover kebab we ordered so I knew it was a little more than that.

It was confirmed that I was ill on Tuesday as Mr S ordered a Chinese and I ate one piece of prawn toast.

On Wednesday, I didn’t eat anything other than my sandwich at work! This is rather strange as my Dad always jokes that NOTHING puts the ladies on my Mum’s side off their food! 😉

4 thoughts on “Kedgeree & Pea Purée on Toast

Any thoughts?

