Chorizo & Anchovy Pappardelle

After almost 800 days and 750+ post, my blog almost defeated me. A puppy, a year end at work, a camera (operator) failure and a damn cold that seemed to last forever put me out of sorts. It started to look like a daunting task but I’m not one to give up.

The puppy is now completely house-trained, the year end is over, I’m trying not to be too cocky with the camera and Summer should will be here any second so all the cold bugs can bugger off!

This blog post was written at the time so I’ve left my comments in, my memory is not that good.

On 12th April 2015, This was Dinner

Well what a difference a day makes! After yesterdays weather mix, today we got windy & miserable with a 10 minute ‘torrential’ rain thrown in. There wasn’t much sun until fairly late. This didn’t deter me from taking the pup on a walk. Walter and I braved the wind and made it out for a good walk. We met plenty of folks along the way, had a fall off a wall (him, not me) and almost got attacked by a stray parasol – I told you it was windy!

Preparing:

  • Slice some chorizo
  • Roughly chop some tomatoes
  • Finely chop a large garlic clove
  • Chop some parsley
  • Juice half a lemon
  • Get pasta, dried chilli flakes, dried oregano, anchovy fillets, olives, oil & seasoning ready

Making:

Cook the pasta. Heat some oil in a pan and cook the chorizo until it starts to release it’s oil. Remove and set aside.

Add the garlic to the pan along with the anchovies. Stir well. Add the chilli flakes, oregano and the tomatoes. Cook for about 5-8 minutes. The anchovies will have broken down and a lovely sauce will now exist with the softened tomatoes.

Season well and add the olives and parsley .

Add back the chorizo and stir in the pasta along with the lemon juice.

Having pasta isn’t considered a weekend meal at ours but as I failed to get the chicken out early enough (it needs quite a long time to marinate), this was our only option. It was very good. TWD_1204_Pappardelle The original can be found here.

4 thoughts on “Chorizo & Anchovy Pappardelle

  1. I’m so glad you are still blogging! That pasta looks delicious – I wouldn’t have thought of anchovies and chorizo together but they are two of my fave things so will definitely be giving it a try.

Any thoughts?

