BBQ Triple Cheese 147ers

On 11th April 2014, This was Dinner

It was such a beautiful day yesterday. I, like many others I would guess, was hoping it would stay well into the weekend. Well nearly but not quite. We got rain, wind and then some sun but you definitely needed a jacket.

So as of today, we have had the barbecue out twice more than last year. We decided to make burgers. And oh what good burgers they were.

These took the advice of Jamie Oliver to use braising (or chuck) steak then we added some bits we had that needed using up to create a 147g burger. I then added mushrooms, shallots and brie. I was craving one I say on ‘You Gotta Eat Here’.

Preparing:

  • Fire up the barbecue
  • Mince some good quality braising steak
  • Grate some manchego
  • Slice up some mushrooms
  • Slice up some shallots
  • Slice up some brie
  • Shred some lettuce
  • Get brioche buns, breadcrumbs, sugar, grated mozzarella, butter, jalapeños, mayo & seasoning ready.

Making:

Mix the minced steak with breadcrumbs, mozzarella, manchego and seasoning. Form into four equal sized patties. Chill for at least half an hour.

Pop the shallots in some tin foil along with some butter and a little sugar. Seal and pop on the barbecue.

Melt a little butter and brush on the cut side of the brioche buns. Toast on the barbecue on either side.

Cook the burgers on the barbecue, turning regularly until fully cooked through. Add the brie for the last couple of minutes.

Fry some mushrooms in a little oil and butter.

Spread a little mayo on the bottom half of the bun. Top with lettuce.

Add the burger to the bun then top with the shallots and mushrooms. Add ketchup if required.

TWD_1104_Burger2TWD_1104_Burger1These were exceptionally good. We actually had two each but didn’t want to eat the other immediately so cooked the other on in the house. A barbecue really does make a difference!

I must say though, finishing the shallots off in the frying pan made them so sweet and sticky.

What do you mean, no grilling for me?
What do you mean, no grilling for me?
8 thoughts on “BBQ Triple Cheese 147ers

  1. I need to make an effort and see if I still have a BBQ lol. I’m sure I put it in the shed, or did the leg fall off of it, must go and have a look..
    BTW the burger looks great but eeeeeee tiny puppy..

    1. I must admit, they do give that extra depth of flavour but you have to make the effort to get it all out and set up, then there’s the British weather!

      He’s cute isn’t he? Wish I could take him everywhere with me, work would be OK actually but he’s not ready for the train yet 😉

      1. I cobbled together a home made one last night, couldn’t find a disposable one in Morrisons so I used a 50p tinfoil roasting tray and a £1 cooling rack, I already had the coal, so I just made a sort of enclosed oven type thing with a few bricks I had in the garden..

  2. We’ve a big gas bbq that we rarely fire up because it doesn’t seem worth the effort for 2. So I ordered a portable charcoal one that I’m hoping will have me cooking outside weekly at least! Your burgers look fab – as does Walter 😉

    1. I do think the charcoal ones give a better flavour. Ours isn’t massive so it’s no great hassle (especially as I’m not the one cleaning and firing it up!).

      Walter is so cute, we are now at the bottom of the list…How’s Walter, then how are you two?! Haha.

Any thoughts?

