White Chocolate & Raspberry Cake and Chinese Custard Tarts

If you read the blog regularly you will know I am not much of a baker. A couple of times I have made a cake it’s been a little on the heavy side. When Mr S and I tried this we declared it the best one ever! Having looked back on my blog I think we might have both been a little hard on me. I’ve made some pretty decent cakes! OK I won’t win prizes for presentation but then again, I’m not trying to either.

This is a John Whaite recipe that I’ve had in my torn out BBC Good Food recipes file for ages. I thought it was perfect for those who are coming to the party and had given up chocolate for lent. I also had some raspberries in the freezer.

My eggs and butter were at room temp.

Preparing the cake:

  • Cut butter into small cubes (200g)
  • Break white chocolate into pieces (100g)
  • Measure out caster sugar (200g) and self-raising flour (200g) & frozen raspberries (175gish)
  • Get 4 large eggs ready
  • Grease & line 2 x 20cm loose bottomed cake tins
  • Preheat the oven to 160ºc (fan)
  • Boil the kettle

Making the cake:

Pour the boiling water into a saucepan and leave on a low simmer. Put the butter and chocolate into a heatproof bowl and set over the water. Let it melt slowly and stir occasionally.

Remove from the heat and let it cool for a couple of minutes. Transfer to your mixer if, like me, that is what you are using.

Beat in the eggs and sugar then gently fold in the flour and raspberries.

Divide between the two tins and bake for 20-25 minutes. Stick a skewer in and if it comes out clean, it’s ready.

Remove from the oven and leave to cool in the tins for 10 minutes then turn on to a wire rack to cool completely.

Preparing the ganache:

  • Chop up some white chocolate (200g)
  • Measure out the double cream (250ml)
  • Boil the kettle
  • Get icing sugar ready for dusting

Making the ganache:

Pour the boiling water into a saucepan and leave on a low simmer. Put the chocolate into a heatproof bowl with 100ml of the cream and set over the water. Let it melt slowly.

Allow to cool to room temperature then beat in the rest of the cream.

Spread all over the base of the cake then place the other on top. I took my icing sugar with me to dust with just before serving. Unfortunately I didn’t get a photo of the cake when it was cook but take my word, it was very good.

TWD_Baking_CakeI have had these tarts bookmarked since February over on the wonderful Food Daydreaming.

I can confirm that they were delicious but I never got to take a photograph of them once I had dusted them with icing sugar and this is just a quick phone snap.

Chinese Custard Tarts

4 thoughts on “White Chocolate & Raspberry Cake and Chinese Custard Tarts

Any thoughts?

