Tikka Fish Chapatis

On 2nd April 2015, This was Dinner

It’s hard to believe we are in April already. It doesn’t seem like that long ago we were wishing our lives away waiting for Walter to arrive at 8 weeks. He’s now a ‘big’ lad at 15 weeks old. He gets bigger by the day so I need to get my photographer hat on and gets some pics of him. Hopefully the weather will be nice this Easter weekend.

We are off to my Mum’s for a family get together and I have a serious weekend of baking my contributions whilst fitting in puppy walkings and a visit to the hairdressers. Then there’s a house spring clean. Is that possible with an excitable puppy around? I’ve written out a cooking and baking timetable so hopefully things will go well.

Back to the food…Do you find that you buy a jar of paste of some sort and then find that it sits in the fridge until you decide it needs throwing? No? Just me then? Well I decided that I would make my own tikka paste after looking it up online. Turns out I have ALL of the ingredients required.

I’d seen a recipe somewhere for fish tikka naan but then couldn’t find it. I had cod and chapatis in the freezer so this was my interpretation.

Preparing:

  • Finely slice a red onion
  • Finely slice some carrot
  • Cut some cod into bite sized pieces
  • Heat the oven to 190ºc (fan)
  • Grind up some coriander and cumin seeds (1tbsp each)
  • Get garlic powder (¾tbsp), paprika (1tbsp), garam masala (½tbsp), ground ginger (½tbsp) chilli powder (1tsp), turmeric (¼tsp), dried mint (½tbsp), salt (¼tsp), lemon, red wine vinegar, vegetable oil, yellow food colouring, yoghurt, chapatiz, rice & seasoning ready.

Making:

Mix of of the herbs and spices together along with a squeeze of  lemon, a good glug of red wine vinegar and a good glug of the oil. You want a nice paste that you can easily toss the fish in.

Toss the fish in the paste then give it another season.

Cook the rice.

Spread the fish on a baking tray and cook for about 12-15 minutes depending on the size of your fish pieces.

Pop the chapatis in the oven to warm

Serve with the rice, carrot and onion along with a dollop of natural yoghurt and a squeeze of lemon juice. Don’t forget your chapatis on the side.

TWD_0204_Tikka_Cod

Any thoughts?

