Sweet & Sour Chicken Hong Kong Style

On 29th & 30th March 2015, This was Dinner

I did go through a phase about 20 years ago where I would have the sweet and sour chicken option from the Chinese takeaway, you know the ones, in loads of batter with the bright orange sauce but then I discovered Deep Fried Crispy Shredded Chicken (or beef) and I was hooked.

I bought chicken instead of the pork that is in the Hairy Bikers (Mum’s Know Best) original recipe. This was purely because sweet and sour chicken would always be my personal choice.

Recipe involves waiting time.

Preparing:

  • Cut a couple of chicken breasts into peices
  • Get a chicken stock cube, white sugar, egg, cornflour, vegetable oil, tomato ketchup, red wine vinegar, a tin of pineapple chunks & seasoning ready

Making:

Mix the stock cube with a little water, about a tablespoon of the sugar and some seasoning. Cover and pop in the fridge.

After about half an hour, whisk the egg with about a tablespoon of the cornflour and add to the chicken.

Pop a pan on high and heat the oil then turn down.

Coat the chicken pieces in more cornflour and fry  (don’t overfill the pan) on all sides until done, about 7-10 minutes depending on their size.

In a small pan, pop the pineapple chunks and all of the juice in along with the ketchup and red wine vinegar. Heat through, adding a little cornflour mixed with water to thicken.

Pour over the chicken and serve with rice or chips, or whatever you damn well fancy.

TWD_2903_Hong_Kong_Chicken

I must admit, if I had read the recipe before buying my bits I would have added big chunky bits of onion and green pepper but as we had masses of chicken it didn’t hurt.

On Monday we went with a jacket potato with cheese & beans. Simple but always good. I always make sure I eat the crispy skin before I get too full if it’s a huge potato.

2 thoughts on “Sweet & Sour Chicken Hong Kong Style

Any thoughts?

