Scandinavian Beef Hash & Walter has his First Walk

On 14th & 15th March 2015, This was Dinner

Well what a day! I can see you roll your eyes as I say that I was worried about our first Walter walk. I shouldn’t have been. The only problem? I think he thinks everyone should love him!!

From approaching a new canine friend, to saying hello to adults and allowing children to pet him he was so bloody good! He most definitely loved all of the attention.

We are lucky enough to live close to Cusworth Hall which is a great place to walk your pooch, he wasn’t sure what to make of the ducks though. I didn’t take my camera out with me as I just wanted to enjoy his new experiences but I will soon.

I might have got a little tipsy on Saturday night what with anniversary and Mr S birthday bottles (thanks Emma) but still made this lovely hash.

Preparing:

  • Peel & chop some potatoes
  • Slice a red onion
  • Prepare some beef stock
  • Chop some cooked beetroot
  • Get minced beef, ground allspice, cayenne pepper, caraway seeds, sour cream butter, oil & seasoning ready

Making:

Boil the potatoes in salted water until just tender.

Heat some oil in a pan then cook the onion until softened. Add the mince and brown. Remove from the pan.

Put some oil and butter in the pan and get a good heat on then add the potatoes and fry. Don’t move them around too much. As they start to brown add back the onion and mince mixture along with the spices and seeds. Stir well then add the stock and simmer until the liquid has gone.

Serve with a dollop of sour cream and a scattering of beetroot.

I would have most definitely used dill as it is delicious and so very Scandinavian but I couldn’t get hold of any.

Here’s the original Delicious magazine recipe.

TWD_1403_Hash

Due our tipsyness on the previous evening we couldn’t be bothered so off the three of us trotted to Morrisons and bought pizzas. Naughty!

4 thoughts on “Scandinavian Beef Hash & Walter has his First Walk

Any thoughts?

