Shepherd’s Pie

On 27th February 2015, This was Dinner

Carrots? They really do go off quickly. This has always been a source of irritation for me so I read up on how to store them a long time ago. There are lots of suggestions but the one that works for me is to top and tail them then store in the fridge. I topped and I tailed the ones I bought last week but forgot to fridge them. Luckily I noticed this on Wednesday and managed to rescue, blanch and freeze them. Can someone create a long life carrot please?

I think we all know the difference between cottage and shepherds pie but here’s 10 facts about shepherd’s pie from Jamie Oliver including my favourite:

The Chilean version of “pastel de papa”, a dish similar to shepherd’s pie eaten in many parts of the world, also contains hard-boiled eggs, raisins and black olives.

I’m definitely trying that. I’d forgot about Jamie’s Comfort Food version, I’ve been making this one for years.

The carrots are my only contribution to this meal as Mr S cooked it whilst I was at work. All I had to do was take it out of the oven and serve it up.

Preparing:

  • Chop a large onion
  • Peel & chop a couple of carrots
  • Peel and cut some potatoes
  • Prepare some beef stock
  • Preheat the oven to 190ºc (fan)
  • Get minced lamb, tomato purée, Worcestershire sauce, dried thyme, dried rosemary, milk, butter, plain flour, oil & seasoning ready

Making:

Cook the potatoes in a large pan of salted water. Drain, leave to steam for a few minutes then mash adding milk, butter and seasoning.

Heat the oil in a pan and cook the onion until soft and starting to brown. Add the lamb and brown. Stir in the flour, Worcestershire sauce and tomato purée and stir well.

Add the carrots, herbs and stock then bring to the boil. Season well. Cover and cook for about half an hour. Add water if it starts to dry out.

Transfer the meat to an oven proof dish and spread the mash over evenly then cook for another half hour.

TWD_2702_Shepherds_Pie TWD_2702_Shepherds_Pie_2

Ir’s National Pie Week next week, we’re a little early.

6 thoughts on “Shepherd’s Pie

  1. Carrots really do go “wangy” very fast don’t they! Whenever I buy a bag I only ever use one or two (only cooking for two of us) so if I’m feeling efficient I dice up* the rest with an equal amount of celery sticks and half that of onion, fry the lot off in a giant frying pan and then split into portions and freeze them flat in ziplock bags. Its then really great when I’m next making bolognese/chilli/cottage pie and all the chopping is already done. (*i say dice up – I really mean throw in the food processor!)

Any thoughts?

