Italian Fish Stew

Well today is my two year anniversary of starting this blog. It’s hard to believe that I’ve managed to keep it up. There have been times when I’ve got behind when life got in the way and I’ve thought of giving up but as soon as I start to type, I realise how much I love doing it. Mr S told me about an article he read and apparently, about 100 posts is usually when someone gives up blogging. This is my 711th post so I’m a little past that!

So what a great way to celebrate an anniversary? With a gorgeous seafood one pot that includes my favourite fish -sea bass. So on 22nd February 2015, This was Dinner

Preparing:

  • Slice a fennel bulb (save the fronds)
  • Slice a couple of garlic cloves
  • Slice a red chilli
  • Slice a couple of squid tubes into rings
  • Clean & de-beard some mussels*
  • Prepare some fish stock
  • Separate the leaves from the stalks of a bunch of basil, tie the stalks together and tear up the leaves
  • Get white wine, a tin of chopped tomatoes, raw prawns, a couple of sea bass fillets, olive oil & seasoning ready

Making:

Heat some oil in a pan, cook the fennel, garlic & chilli until softened. Pour in the wine and let it bubble for a few minutes.

Add the squid and basil stalks along with the tomatoes and veg stock. Bring to the boil and then simmer for 15 minutes covered then 15 minutes uncovered.

Season well then turn up the heat and add the mussels, prawns and top with the sea bass, skin side up. Pop the lid back on and cook for six minutes.

Serve scattered with the torn basil and the fennel fronds.

I would also say serve with crusty bread but we made so much of a serving that we didn’t need it.

TWD_2202_Fish_Stew

TWD_2202_FishStew_Pan

I suppose it’s only right that this recipe comes from my regular source, BBC Good Food and can be found here.

* always make sure you discard any open mussels

9 thoughts on “Italian Fish Stew

Any thoughts?

