Squash & Chorizo Pie

On 7th February 2015, This was Dinner

Well today was wonderful.

On Thursday night, as I was making dinner, I mentioned that I really fancied a couple of cocktails. When I looked at my phone a little later, lo and behold, there was a message from my sister asking if I fancied a couple of cocktails in Relish on Saturday!

I had my regular 8 week colour and cut due at 9.15am, my hairdressers is about 4 doors away from Relish. How could I say no?

So after a few nice cocktails with Emma and her friend Sam, I went home armed with a bottle of vodka to see that Mr S had made sure the garden was puppy proof for Tuesday. (Yes I did feel a little guilty!)

We got straight to the pie as having cocktails on an empty stomach could be disastrous!

Preparing:

  • Preheat the oven to 180ºc (fan)
  • Chop a couple of red onions
  • Slice a chorizo
  • Cut a butternut squash into chunks
  • Beat an egg
  • Get puff pastry, spinach, chickpeas, olive soil, crème fraîche & seasoning ready

Making:

Heat a large pan and cook the chorizo. Remove and set aside, add a little oil if required then cook the onion until softened.

Add the squash to the pan with a little water and stir well. Cover and leave for about 15 minutes until just cooked. Add the chorizo, a can of chickpeas (including the liquid) and the spinach. Season and stir well. Cover again for a few minutes.

Add the crème fraîche and let it bubble for a few minutes. You might need to add some water.

Transfer to a pie dish and roll out the pastry. Brush the dish with a little of the egg then pop the pastry on top and trim, pressing down around the edges.

Brush the pastry with egg then cut a hole in the top of the pie.

Pop on a baking tray and cook in the oven for about 25 minutes.

TWD_0702_Pie2 TWD_0702_pie1After pie we partook in a couple of vodkas and watched the Nelson Mandela movie, when it finished I picked up my phone and there was a message…could the puppy come tomorrow!!! Could he? We couldn’t wait! And so a new era starts…

This recipe was in the January edition of BBC Good Food and can be found here.

4 thoughts on “Squash & Chorizo Pie

Any thoughts?

