Mushroom Stroganoff on Toast

On 6th January 2015, This was Dinner

I kind of did this from memory after watching an episode of Sunday Brunch before Christmas. I had my mushrooms leftover from when I didn’t make vollys. They lasted surprisingly well.

Preparing:

  • Chop an onion
  • Roughly chop some mushrooms (I used chestnut & mini portobello)
  • Finely chop some garlic
  • Prepare some vegetable stock
  • Slice some good bread
  • Get butter, smoked paprika, sour cream, parsley, lemon, oil & seasoning ready

Making:

Heat some oil and gently fry the onion until starting to soften.

Put some butter in the pan to melt then add the mushrooms to the pan along with the garlic, don’t move the mushrooms around until they have started to cook.

Add the paprika and stir well then add the stock and cook until reduced.

Toast the bread.

Put in a few dollops of sour cream and stir well. Cook for a few minutes then add a good squeeze or two of lemon and season to taste.

Sprinkle with parsley.

TWD_0601_Mush_Strog

I know you would normally flambΓ© something like this with brandy before adding the cream but I had vodka, I had gin, I had tequila and I had whiskey, but no brandy.

6 thoughts on “Mushroom Stroganoff on Toast

      1. I was super impressed when she told me! πŸ˜€ although she has admitted there may be relapses, I’m hoping she won’t be able to eat the wild boar medallions after all πŸ˜‰

Any thoughts?

