Chilli Beef Tostadas

On 14th December 2014, This was Dinner

My cousin was coming to dinner today as she was picking up the beautiful Tilly who we managed to fully tire out by going on a long walk up to Cusworth Hall and along the Trans-Pennine route.

After years of walking past it, we popped into the Cusworth Hall cafe for coffee and cake and it was lovely. I can see another visit coming on soon, there are so many cakes to try!

In respect of what seems to now be tradition, I made yet another variation on chilli for Charlotte. The dog isn’t allowed spicy food!

Preparing:

  • Chop an onion
  • Crush a couple of garlic cloves
  • Finely chop a chilli (I’d use 2 if I wasn’t having a visitor)
  • Grate some cheddar
  • Slice an avocado
  • Slice a pepper
  • get a lime, minced beef, chopped tomatoes, tomato purée, tortillas, baked beans*, paprika oil & seasoning ready

Making:

Heat a pan and fry the mince, breaking up until browned.

Add the onion and garlic and fry for a little longer.

Add the chilli, tomatoes and purée, stir and bring to the boil.

Cook for about 15 minutes then when you realise you’ve forgot an ingredient, add the baked beans and a good pinch of paprika and cook for another 15 minutes with the lid on.

Squeeze lime juice over the red pepper.

Pop the grill on and heat a baking sheet.

Add a tortilla and spread some of the chilli on it, sprinkle with grated cheddar and grill until the cheese has melted. Add some of the pepper and some of the avocado and another squeeze of lime.

Repeat for each tostada.

TWD_1412_Tostadas

This variation on the Morrisons magazine recipe can be found here.

I also made my cranberry sauce for Christmas Day and a chorizo ‘jam’ for the holiday season munchies. Post to follow.

I’m really torn as to what to do about having a pet back in the house. I still miss Jarvis dearly and am not sure I’m ready for someone new, be it cat or dog.

*I would definitely have followed the recipe and used refried beans but I left them off the shopping list so adapted my chilli

Any thoughts?

