Taleggio & Pancetta Baked Pasta

On 25th November 2014, This was Dinner

Oh my, if I could eat this again today, tomorrow and the next day I would be happy. I adore taleggio and still remember the first time I had it and love a pasta bake, this hit all the right spots and I can promise you will see it again.

Mr S did the market shop today so balance is restored. He messaged me to ask what type of pancetta and although the recipe uses cubes I told him to surprise me and he went with slices, I think slices were better ๐Ÿ˜‰

Preparing:

  • preheat the oven to 190ยบc (fan)
  • boil the kettle
  • roughly chop some pancetta slices
  • finely chop an onion
  • remove the rind from some taleggio and cut into cubes
  • pick some thyme leaves
  • grate some parmesan
  • get pasta, butter, plain flour, milk, oil & seasoning ready

Making:

Cook the pasta in the boiling, salted water then drain and refresh.

Heat a frying pan and cook the pancetta until just starting to crisp then remove and pop to one side.

Add some oil and cook the onion until soft.

Stick the pancetta back in and then add the flour and stir for half a minute, gradually add milk, continuously stirring until you get a thickish sauce. Add two thirds of the taleggio and most of the thyme, stir to melt the cheese then season well.

Stir in the pasta then scatter the remaining taleggio, the parmesan and the thyme.

Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes.

TWD_2511_Taleggio_Pasta

It’s another Bill Granger Easy recipe. I should have photographed it as a portion as well to show it’s oozy cheesy goodness.

12 thoughts on “Taleggio & Pancetta Baked Pasta

Any thoughts?

