Smoked Mackerel on Toast

On 3rd November 2014, This was Dinner

I don’t know about you but I’m already planning food for the whole of December. The present shopping isn’t going particularly well – I’ve bought for 2 of 23 people, but my food shop will definitely be sorted.

I’ve written out the dates and told Mr S that if he fancies anything, he should add it to the list. One rule? Every meal must be from a different cook book. That should keep us busy for a while.

Talking of Mr S, dinner was served when I got in

Preparing:

  • chop some beetroot
  • juice & zest a lemon
  • thinly slice a shallot
  • toast some brown bread
  • get smoked mackerel, sour cream & seasoning ready (dill would be nice with this but I didn’t buy any)

Making:

Mix the beetroot with the sour cream, shallot, lemon juice and zest to taste and some seasoning.

Grill the mackerel.

Pop the beetroot mixture on the toast and top with the flaked mackerel – easy!

TWD_0311_Mackerel

4 thoughts on “Smoked Mackerel on Toast

  1. Lisa,
    I like mackerel too and I am drooling looking at your mackerel toasts! Also am going to try making the chicken kiev you posted. Thanks for both the recipes!

Any thoughts?

