Liver with Cabbage Mash

On 24th October 2014, This was Dinner

I know offal is one of those things that is bound to spark a crumpled face of disgust. Some may hate it, some may hate the thought of it, some may only remember it from their childhood. Personally I have always loved liver and kidney but the thought of heart and brains turns my stomach. Each to their own.

If you do like liver, read on – it’s a good one, if not, skip to the use of the leftover potato, the pizzas  (although the photo is poor) or check out Sainsburys pretty decent pies, or see my Beefeater burger from Sunday.

Preparing:

  • cut the liver into strips
  • season some plain flour
  • cut some thick smoked bacon slices into lardons
  • peel and slice an onion
  • make up some beef stock
  • peel and chop some potatoes
  • slice some leeks
  • thinly shred half a savoy cabbage
  • get salt, white pepper, butter and oil ready

Making:

Heat some oil in a pan and add the onion and bacon. Cook until softened and remove from the pan.

Add some more oil if required, dip the liver in the seasoned flour and brown. Do it in batches if required.

Add back the onion and bacon then add the stock, bring to the boil, season then simmer for about 30 minutes.

Cook the potatoes for your mash, fry the leek and cabbage in a little oil until softened. Drain and mash the potatoes, add a little butter and some white pepper. Fold through the cabbage and leeks.

Serve up a good dollop of the mash and top with the liver.

TWD_2410_Liver

This was another goodie from Morrisons Magazine.

There was so much mash that we had them for ‘brunch’ on Saturday morning. We shaped them into little cakes, fried them in some oil and served them with my childhood favourite – tinned beans and sausages, and a squirt of chilli sauce.

TWD_2510_Brunch

On 25th October 2014. This was Dinner

I bought a cheese and onion bread mix and made up pizza bases. I also had some tomato sauce left over from the tuna meatballs so spread that over the base. Sprinkle with mature cheddar and dot with mozzarella then added some cured meats. Add a pinch of oregano.

TWD_2510_Pizza

I also did a smoked salmon one but didn’t photograph it, also – it was rubbish and we didn’t eat it.

On 26th October 2014, This was dinner

We went car shopping again. I’ll cut a long story short but say that Dad still hasn’t got one and I lost the will to live in Skoda due to the poor lack of service and breakfast time was lost.

We went to a Beefeater (I don’t think I’ve been in one of those since I was about 18) and I had a burger.

TWD_2610_Beefeater

On 27th October 2014, This was Dinner

I had a very relaxing afternoon but when I got back I didn’t feel very well. Luckily, Mr S had bought some steak and kidney pies from Sainburys so we just made some home made oven chips and served it with a tin of processed peas.

TWD_2710_Pie

 

Any thoughts?

