Lemon Mackerel with Garlic Crisps

Before I start, may I draw your attention to the fact that I finally have my own little ‘This was Dinner’ logo and background. This is obviously quite the norm, however, I’m married to a Graphic Designer. I’ve waited patiently but as he (we) have recently set up an agency I thought he owed me ;-). I’m thrilled with my logo and it’s exciting times in so many ways. Here’s a shameless plug:

If you, or someone you know has any design needs whatsoever, pop over to Unbloq Limited and just ‘say hello’.

Now back to dinner…

On 23rd October 2014, This was dinner

This was an improvised meal tonight as I should have bought smoked mackerel and actually bought fresh. I was going to make a quick dauphinoise with this but change my mind and went with ‘crisps’.

These were fantastic bits of mackerel, it’s a quickie too.

Preparing:

  • preheat the oven to 190ºc (fan)
  • mandolin some potatoes
  • finely slice some cornichon
  • quarter a lemon
  • bash a few garlic cloves
  • get mackerel fillets, oil, crème fraîche, Dijon mustard, sea salt & seasoning ready

Making:

Toss the potato slices and garlic cloves in oil and sea salt. Arrange on a baking tray and cook in the oven for about 20 minutes until crispy around the edges.

Pop the fish fillets on a baking tray and season well, pop a lemon quarter on top and bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes.

Mix the crème fraîche, mustard and cornichon together.

TWD_2310_MackerelServe up the fish and potatoes then carefully squeeze the lemon over the fish and serve with a couple of dollops of the dressing.

 

2 thoughts on “Lemon Mackerel with Garlic Crisps

Any thoughts?

