Butternut Squash, Mushroom & Gorgonzola Pilaf

On 19th October 2014, This was dinner

Butternut squash is one of my favourites at the moment and anything with mushrooms is always a winner. I thought I’d really got in to my blue cheese but if I was making this again I’d use a blue but something a bit lighter. Thank goodness I didn’t stick the lot in or it would have been beans and sausages on toast for me.

Once I actually got out of bed I had a really productive day or-goon-ising my recipes from countless magazines. It’s a very intense affair deciding which to keep and what section of the file they go in. 😉 I know I can find them online but I like that I have my favourites to flick through.

Preparing:

  • slice an onion
  • peel & bash a few garlic cloves
  • peel and dice a small butternut squash
  • quarter some mushrooms
  • chop some dried mushrooms
  • chop some sage leaves
  • crumble some gorgonzola
  • prepare some vegetable stock
  • get oil, (basmati & wild) rice & seasoning ready

Making:

Heat the oil in a pan and add the onion and garlic, Fry for about five minutes.

Add the squash and fresh mushrooms and cook for a couple more minutes.

Add the rice and give it all a good stir to coat.

Pour over the stock and add the dried mushrooms and sage.

Bring to the boil then cover and good for about 30-40 minutes, keeping an eye on it. Add more stock if required.

Season and add the cheese. Pop the lid back on and leave for five minutes then stir the melted cheese through and serve.

TWD_1910_Pilaf

It’s only my own personal tastes and it can’t be that bad as I’ve got leftovers for lunch on Monday.

Here’s the original BBC Good Food recipe.

2 thoughts on “Butternut Squash, Mushroom & Gorgonzola Pilaf

Any thoughts?

