Not Sushi & a Quick Fish Stew

I had a half day at work today which meant that I could finally meet Sam, my sister’s friend who I have only ever met to say hello but have had many a quick chat with on Facebook or through this blog. She is as lovely as I’d imagined and so is her daughter Zoe.

We went to Sakushi in Sheffield where Sam and Zoe went for full on sushi but my sister and I went with a bento box with chicken katsu and prawn tempura which also came with a miso soup starter. The cocktails were nice too. The ones in the Wig and Pen were even nicer! (see a couple of photos below).

Mr S waited until I got in at a very reasonable and sober 7.30pm and we made this quick fish stew.

Boil some halved baby new potatoes.

Gently fry and onion, some garlic and celery.

Add chopped chorizo and gently fry that too.

Add chopped tomatoes and a little stock. Add the par boiled potatoes. Cook for about 15 minutes. Season well.

Add your fish of choice, I had a bag of smoked haddock pieces and some mussels in the freezer that I’d defrosted overnight and cook until the fish is cooked through.

Season well and serve with a dollop of crème fraîche.

TWD_2606_Fish_Stew

I’d like to say I had a small serving as I’d already eaten out, but I didn’t!

Using FROZEN SMOKED HADDOCK and FROZEN MUSSELS (both defrosted), POTATOES, CELERY, GARLIC, ONION, CHORIZO, BABY NEW POTATOES, CHOPPED TOMATOES and STOCK…

TWD_Cocktail TWD_Sakushi TWD_Sakushi2

This was (lunch &) dinner…26th June 2014.

3 thoughts on “Not Sushi & a Quick Fish Stew

  1. can i like this extra? it was a lovely day, much fun and cocktails. we had burger jim cheesy chip wraps for supper (the glamour) lol xx

Any thoughts?

