Lamb Biryani

Hmmm. So far behind on the blog again and it is so easy to do. Here’s my catch up.

Jamie Oliver made this on his current TV series ‘last week’. As I have had some lamb (cut unknown but pretty sure it’s neck) languishing in my freezer for quite a while now, I decided that this would be perfect, Jamie calls it incredible lamb biryani and I’m inclined to agree.

I cooked the lamb long and slow with a bit of seasoning early in the morning so I could use it as my ‘leftover lamb’. When it’s cool, shred it up. As luck would have it, I also had some lamb stock in the freezer from when I last made a lamb dish too.

Cook some rice, rinse under cold water then spread out, cover loosely and leave to cool.

Peel and finely chop some ginger, garlic and red onion. Pop some oil in a pan and throw these in to cook gently.

Cook until nice and soft and golden then add frozen spinach with a little water. Cook for about 10 minutes.

Season and remove from the pan.

Finely slice a chilli and pop it in the pan you just used with some hot curry powder (or mild if you must), flour, mango chutney and a splash of red wine vinegar.  Add the shredded lamb. Stir well then pour in the lamb stock. Simmer until nice and thick. Season well then pop through a sieve. Saving the gravy.

Preheat the oven to 190ºc (fan)

Season the rice then spread half of it over the bottom of your oven proof pan and up the sides if you have enough. Add the spinach mixture then add the meat. Top with another layer of rice. Sprinkle with flaked almonds, cover and bake for 40 minutes. Remove the lid for the last 15 minutes.

If your saved gravy is too thick, boil it rapidly for a little while. Pour this over your serving and top with a dollop of natural yoghurt.

TWD_1506_Biryani

TWD_1506_Biryani2

I have to admit that I’ve never had a biryani before, not that I didn’t like the sound of it but I would always tend to go for something more saucy. I shall be having this again. It was extremely tasty, spicy, lamb-y and, quite clearly because Jamie says so – incredible. Check out Save with Jamie for the full recipe.

I took leftovers for work on Monday. We made up the Tapas we bought from Morrison’s to have whilst watching the football on Saturday for Monday’s dinner as the lunch servings were quite large.

TWD_1606_Tapas

Using LAMB, BASMATI RICE, GINGER, GARLIC, RED ONION, FROZEN SPINACH, RED CHILLI, CURRY POWDER, FLOUR, MANGO CHUTNEY, RED WINE VINEGAR, LAMB STOCK, FLAKED ALMONDS and NATURAL YOGURT…

This was dinner…15th & 16th June 2014.

15 thoughts on “Lamb Biryani

  1. You are completely right about the lack of sauce. I love drier dishes so often order biryani but my husband prefers saucy food so always orders a curry with heaps of sauce. I always think of biryani as an Indian version of fried rice. Tasty, comforting and able to be eaten curled up on the couch with a bowl and a big spoon 🙂

Any thoughts?

