Prawn Cakes with Remoulade Sauce

This is my interpretation of the Shrimp Burger that Stephanie over at The Haute Meal made quite a while ago. Another item well worth the wait after bookmarking it so long ago.

I made the remoulade more or less as Stephanie did but without any form of measurement and substituting wholegrain with dijon as that’s all I had in.

For the burgers, again, ignoring measurements I more or less followed the recipe but as I have no idea what Old Bay is, I stuck some cayenne and paprika in there.

I also wanted to make my more ‘fish cake’ – like, so I patted them in flour, dipped them in egg then rolled them in ground cornflakes.

To cook, I cooked them in oil for a minute each side then baked them in the oven on 190ºc (fan) for around ten minutes.

I fried some Parma ham until crisp and served them with lettuce and a slice of red tomato dipped in oil and polenta, then fried. I would have loved fried green tomatoes but they are pretty hard to come by in little old Doncaster.

I toasted some hand cut brown bread then cut them into appropriate sized rounds.

TWD_1406_Prawn_Burger

I was also going to serve them with polenta fries but as it was England’s first World Cup game (sigh) we had eaten some bit’s of tapas earlier.

Using MAYO, MUSTARD, CAPERS, CELERY, SPRING ONION, GARLIC, LEMON, WORCESTERSHIRE SAUCE, GRATED HORSERADISH, PAPRIKA, LARGE, UNCOOKED PRAWNS, BREADCRUMBS, PARSLEY, CAYENNE, EGG, FLOUR, CORNFLAKES, TOMATO, POLENTA and PARMA HAM…

This was dinner…14th June 2014.

Any thoughts?

