Cajun Chicken & Bean Salad

So the 2014 World Cup is upon us. Don’t get me wrong, I like football, but I’m a week behind on my postings and, well, it’s half time in the England game and I’m sick of the incessant bull$h!t of some of the commentators and 76 showings of every game. Mr S and I have decided to adopt the nation that comes third. Hmmm. We’re also doing a 2 person fantasy football league and thanks to Neymar (me) and a poor Casillas (Mr S) I’m in front for once.

Mix oil, dried oregano and thyme, smoked paprika, cayenne and garlic salt together and add a couple of butterflied chicken breasts. Season well and leave for 15 minutes, covered, in the fridge.

Make a salad of black beans, chopped fresh tomato, sweetcorn, spring onions, chopped sun dried tomatoes and the zest and juice of a lime.

Cook the chicken through in an oiled pan, mine took about four minutes each side.

Although I love fresh guacamole, it’s like pesto. It’s not always convenient so I bought one for this recipe.

TWD_1206_Cajun_Chicken

Check out July’s BBC Good Food magazine for the actual recipe.

Using DRIED OREGANO, GARLIC SALT, DRIED THYME, SMOKED PAPRIKA, CAYENNE, CHICKEN BREAST, BLACK BEANS, TOMATOES, SWEETCORN, SPRING ONION, SUN DRIED TOMATOES, LIME and GUACAMOLE…

This was dinner…12th June 2014.

 

 

 

Any thoughts?

