Spicy Tortilla Bean Bake

My penultime recipe for NVW, although not exactly a ‘week’ I know. I decided to throw this together, again using the bit’s from my fridge, freezer and pantry. I did buy the beans though.

Preheat the oven to 180ºc (fan).

Cook some frozen spinach, refresh in cold water and squeeze out all the water.

Finely chop half a red onion and fry until soft. Slice the other half and fry until browned, add a little brown sugar near the end.

Grate some cheddar, I suggest using a really good one, I used the Wooky Hole cheddar that I am now addicted to.

Mix a couple of tins of borlotti beans with the frozen spinach, chopped pickled jalapeños and some crème fraîche.

To build:

In a round baking dish, spread a layer of passata. Sprinkle with oregano.

Pop a flour tortilla on top.  Spread another layer of passata and sprinkling of oregano.

Spread a layer of the bean mixture. Sprinkle with some chopped peppadew peppers, a layer of the diced and sliced onions, a sprinkling of chilli flakes and some seasoning.

Give it a good layer of the cheese.

Add another tortilla and repeat, then add another one and repeat. Finish with a layer of cheese.

Cook in the oven for about 15 minutes. Stick some foil on top and cook for another 15 minutes.

TWD_3005_Bean_Bake TWD_3005_BeanBake2

I was mightily impressed with this, even if I do say so myself. I might make it again with some pieces of chorizo or some pepperoni slices.

Using PASSATA, FLOUR TORTILLAS, DRIED OREGANO, BORLOTTI BEANS, FROZEN SPINACH, CRÈME FRAÎCHE, JALAPEÑOS, PEPPADEW PEPPERS, RED ONION, BROWN SUGAR, CHILLI FLAKES and CHEDDAR…

This was dinner…30th May 2014.

3 thoughts on “Spicy Tortilla Bean Bake

Any thoughts?

