Harissa Chicken with Roasted Sweet Potato

I’m revisiting old cook books, this is from an Ainsley Harriot book I’ve had for ages. I just changed the cooking method slightly.

I’m not sure I’m going to cook this again. Don’t get me wrong, it’s delicious, but each time, just before I cooked it, Mr S has been ill, and being ill is a rarity with Mr S.

Mum & Dad were coming for dinner so I decided on this nice and easy tray bake. I bought six skin-on chicken breasts and five sweet potatoes, I thought my sister might have made it too but she was working and recovering from a stomach bug. There was a little too much, even if there had been five of us but at least the wraps for work are sorted.

Score the chicken breasts, pop them in a bowl with some harissa paste, some seasoning and a little oil. Leave to marinate in the fridge whilst you prepare the other stuff/ walk up to the shop with your Mum because she’s disappointed you haven’t bought a bottle of wine.

Peel the sweet potatoes and slice into rounds about 1cm thick. Par boil in salted water, drain and leave to cool a little.

Stick the oven on at 190ºc (fan).

Grate some peeled ginger and toss with the potatoes, some cumin seeds and some oil. Roast in a single layer for about 20 minutes.

Sear the chicken on each side then pop on top of the potatoes and cook until the chicken is done and the potatoes are starting to caramelise. This will depend on the size of your chicken breasts.

I served it with some quick garlic mayo, steamed kale and some mixed frozen vegetables. Oh and I used my new serving plate. It was serving plate-tastic.

TWD_0106_Harissa_Chicken

Mum was sceptical as she’s not a big sweet potato fan but she loved it. Dad enjoyed them but asked where the starter and the dessert were!

Using SKIN ON CHICKEN BREASTS, HARISSA PASTE, CUMIN SEEDS, GINGER, SWEET POTATOES, GARLIC CLOVE, MAYO, KALE and FROZEN VEGETABLES…

This was dinner…1st June 2014.

Any thoughts?

