Smashed Peas & Broad Beans on Mozzarella Toasts

Jamie Oliver calls this ‘Incredible’ smashed peas because he uses a pestle and mortar on his fresh peas. I used frozen and I wasn’t standing there bashing my peas to death when I’ve got a perfectly good processor that will do it for me. Besides, once I use my pestle and mortar it takes on the flavour of every spice I’ve ever bashed in it.

This is one of my favourites and luckily it’s quick because I’m bloody tired. The gym is definitely off for this week. We just about managed to cook, clear up, get washed and sort the cat before sodding off to bed. It’s also one of my three owed vegetarian dishes.

Mine differs to Jamie’s on the smashing, fresh and buffalo fronts. Here’s what I did:

Boil up some frozen peas and broad beans. Refresh in cold water then pop in a processor, reserving a few. Blitz it up with some fresh mint and a little seasoning.

Stir through some extra virgin rapeseed oil and grated parmesan. Add some lemon juice. Test the flavours, adding more of what your tastebuds require.

Toast some sourdough bread and then rub with the cut side of a piece of garlic. If you buy the good stuff then you would just tear it up and serve but as I messed up and bough ‘pizza’ mozzarella, I then cut it into slices and popped it on the bread then toasted again.

Pile the pea mixture on the mozzarella toasts, scatter with the reserved peas and broad beans then add some pea shoots and a scattering of Parmesan. Give it another squeeze of lemon.

TWD_2805_Smashed_peasDelicious!

Using FROZEN PEAS, FROZEN BROAD BEANS, SOURDOUGH, MOZZARELLA, PARMESAN, LEMON, EXTRA VIRGIN RAPESEED OIL, MINT, GARLIC and PEA SHOOTS…

This was dinner…28th May 2014.

4 thoughts on “Smashed Peas & Broad Beans on Mozzarella Toasts

Any thoughts?

