Spectacular Fail

I’m ashamed to report that I didn’t get to complete National Vegetarian Week but it lies firmly on Mr S’ shoulders. As he always does, he came to pick me up from the gym. Only this time he waited for me in the pub below. The mixed grill on the menu caught his eye and he decided that this was what he wanted. After three successive days at the gym his words were that his body was ‘screaming out for meat’. So there we were – risotto scrapped – Morrisons visited – up to our necks in meat.

I have NEVER had a mixed grill until tonight – it’s too much meat for me – and I didn’t manage all of this, although what I did eat was delicious.

We stuck a couple of sausages on to cook. We popped some chips and onion rings in the oven and stuck a tin of peas on to warm and also a shop bought peppercorn sauce. Meanwhile, we covered some rump steak in oil and salt, fried it for a couple of minutes each side and left it to rest. Then we butterflied a chicken and did the same with that. We fried a halved tomato in oil and butter along with some halved button mushrooms and cooked a piece of gammon. Finally, we fried an egg.

TWD_2305_Mixed_Grill

Using RUMP STEAK, SAUSAGES, CHICKEN, GAMMON, ONION RINGS, OVEN CHIPS, MUSHROOMS, PEPPERCORN SAUCE, EGGS and TINNED PEAS…

This was dinner…23rd May 2014

6 thoughts on “Spectacular Fail

  1. A fail with a happy ending. Looks delicious. My last meal WAS a disaster. I should have the big post up today.

Any thoughts?

