Artichoke, Lemon & Thyme Pasta

With National Vegetarian Week, today it was pasta’s turn. Although cheese is still very much involved.

I’ve followed Domestic Sluttery on twitter almost since I started it. It’s a great Home & Lifestyle blog and they never disappoint with their food, drink, fashion and things for the home. A long time ago (BB – Before Blogging) I made these delicious goujons but haven’t made anything else of theirs for a while. This vegetarian recipe caught my eye a few weeks ago so I bookmarked it. Check out their blog.

As usual I’ve made a couple of subtle differences.

I paid a bit for my pasta from the deli and believe me it was worth it. I don’t think I can go back! Cook the pasta, get plenty of salt in the boiling water. Drain it, but reserve some pasta water.

Toast some pine nuts.

Using the pan from the pasta, pop the reserved pasta water in and a good splash of white wine. Bring to a simmer and add finely chopped garlic, lemon juice, zest and a bunch of thyme leaves. I would have loved to have used artichokes in water but couldn’t get any so had to use artichokes in oil. I patted them dry and chopped them in half. Add these to the pan.

Simmer for a few minutes and add mascarpone, seasoning and a good pinch of chilli flakes.

Add back the pasta and some grated Parmesan. Give it all a good stir then garnish with the toasted pine nuts and a couple more thyme leaves.

TWD_2105_Artichoke_Pasta

Enjoy with a glass of the wine.

Using PINE NUTS, PASTA, WHITE WINE, GARLIC, LEMON, THYME, ARTICHOKES (in water or oil), MASCARPONE, CHILLI FLAKES and PARMESAN…

This was dinner…21st May 2014.

10 thoughts on “Artichoke, Lemon & Thyme Pasta

Any thoughts?

