National Vegetarian Week 2014

I really enjoy a vegetarian dish but that is not to say I wouldn’t miss meat.

Reading the latest edition of Delicious magazine I was informed that this week is National Vegetarian Week 2014 and decided that this would be interesting for me and my blog.

I did actually spend quite a bit at the market this week, more than I do when buying meat and fish some weeks but I’m sure if I was doing this regularly I would be able to budget better.

I also found it difficult to find meals that were cheese free. If you have any please let me know as I need to make some nice meals for the weekend.

The good thing is I’m enjoying some wonderful salads with the leftovers the next day.

This recipe comes from Hugh’s Three Good Things and is my first of the cheese recipes.

Heat the oven to 190ºc (fan).

Cut some new potatoes in half, bash 3 garlic cloves. Toss them in olive oil and seasoning and roast for 30 minutes.

Snap the woody bits off asparagus and cut into 3cm pieces.

Cut a pack of Halloumi into cubes.

Pop both in roasting dish with the potatoes and cook for another 15 minutes.

Squeeze over some lemon juice, tossing well again and serve with a little more seasoning and some parsley.

TWD_1905_Veggy_Day1Using NEW POTATOES, HALLOUMI, ASPARAGUS, GARLIC, LEMON and PARSLEY…

This was dinner…19th May 2014.

 

Any thoughts?

