Burgers & Chips

Well today was fun! A visit to the opticians found that I need two separate pairs of specs, one for reading, one for every day. And don’t shout varifocals, bifocals or whatever  as my left and right eye are that so very different (as my Dad would say, I have one eye and a minto) that they are not an option. So a bank account clearing later, I await my new spectacles and the reality that I’m not 18 anymore…

Once finished in town we did a bit of gardening. Clearing up, replanting and making plans. The weather was fantastic. I was going to pop the barbecue on for these, then I decided I was just going to use the camping stove. Then I just did them on the hob as I was tired after a busy day.

Place good minced beef, a finely chopped onion, finely chopped garlic, Dijon mustard, a dash of Worcestershire sauce, finely chopped pickled gherkin and a handful of chopped parsley in a bowl with some seasoning.

Mix well, the recipe attached uses an egg too but I was happy with the consistency of mine so didn’t bother.

Shape into burgers and stick in the fridge for a while. I used a pound of mince and made 4 burgers.

We had a few spare potatoes so made some oven chips too. Cut into your preferred chip size and boil in salted water for a good few minutes.

Drain and leave to dry out a little.

Toss in polenta, sea salt and black pepper.

Cook for about 15-20 minutes.

Heat a frying pan with a lid. Cook the burgers for about 3-4 minutes on each side.

I had some leftover onion so stuck that in the pan with the burgers. When almost ready, pop some slices of your desired cheese on (I used Wooky Hole Cave Aged Mature Cheddar), turn up the heat and throw in a small cup of water, popping the lid on the pan immediately.

To build – bun – Dijon mayo – lettuce – burger – sliced tomato – the fried onion – sliced avocado – the top of the bun with a light spread of mayo.

TWD_1705_Burgers

I wanted brioche buns but couldn’t find any, these ‘cobs’ from the market were very good though.

These really are the ultimate beef burger.

Using BEEF MINCE, ONION, GARLIC, DIJON, WORCESTERSHIRE SAUCE, PARSLEY, GHERKIN, WOOKY HOLE CHEDDAR, BURGER BUNS, MAO, AVOCADO, LETTUCE and TOMATO…

This was dinner…17th May 2014.

 

Any thoughts?

