Turkey Schnitzel with Fennel Slaw

Sunday is my friend Jacci’s 50th birthday. So at work today Sarah, Charlotte & I gave her some gifts. Work (via Charlotte) bought her, not the obligatory milestone work-gift of Champagne and Cake as she doesn’t drink and is currently dieting, but perfume and flowers. She was thrilled but a little embarrassed by the attention.

I popped into M & S before work as it didn’t seem right to give her cards and gifts without blowing out at least one candle so I checked the calories on their Sour Cherry & Pistachio cakes (which conveniently contained four – cakes not calories) and we gave her one of those.

As I had a hair appointment at nine tomorrow I was very well behaved and just cooked this tonight. No sign of bank holiday weekend alcohol (OK apart from the one in the pic) so far…

Make a slaw of finely sliced fennel, finely sliced red onion, chopped capers, chopped parsley, chopped dill and mayo, along with a good squeeze of lemon juice.

Bash a couple of turkey steaks and cut into two (to make four schnitzels).

Pat with cornflour, dip in egg and then in smashed cornflakes.

Cook for a couple of minutes each side in rapeseed oil and serve with the slaw in a toasted bread bun.

TWD_0205_Turkey_Schnitzel

Here’s Bill Granger’s version – mine are (very) slightly different.

Using FENNEL, RED ONION, CAPERS, PARSLEY, DILL, MAYO, LEMON, TURKEY STEAKS, CORNFLOUR, EGG, CORNFLAKES and BREAD BUNS…

This was dinner…2nd May 2014.

4 thoughts on “Turkey Schnitzel with Fennel Slaw

  1. I like fennel seeds in my cooking, but I don’t like fennel, I bought one the other month just to make sure I didn’t like it, and no, I don’t..
    Cornflake escalope looks rather nice though..

Any thoughts?

