Leek & Goats Cheese Tarts

Oh it feels so good to have the blog up to date. I think the fact that I was behind was having an impact on the things we were eating too. Only time will tell if I am trying to justify some of my recent lazy choices.

There was a lot of meat involved at the weekend so I decided to go for these tonight. I’m going to start asking my cheese man what cheese it is I’m buying. For this I just asked for ‘a goats cheese with rind’.

The puff pastry is shop bought. Gordon Ramsey said this was OK years ago, so there!

Heat the oven to 200ºc (fan).

Pop a little oil and some butter in a pan on a low heat and stick the washed and sliced leeks in along with some thyme leaves and seasoning. Sweat the leeks for about 20-25 minutes. Add a little more butter if required, you don’t want them to colour but you do want them to start to break down.

I bought ready rolled pastry so I managed to cut 3 circles out to make a decent serving for us both. Make a score about a cm in and gently prick and fill with the leeks. Top with a slice of the goats cheese and a sprig of thyme.

Brush the edge with milk and then pop in the oven for 20-25 minutes.

TWD_2804_Tart

I thoroughly enjoyed these, very simple and tasty, whatever the goats cheese was, it was beautiful.

Using LEEKS, BUTTER, THYME, PUFF PASTRY, MILK and GOATS CHEESE…

This was dinner…28th April 2014.

2 thoughts on “Leek & Goats Cheese Tarts

Any thoughts?

