Lamb Dhansak

Well, well, well. I’ve gone and got myself up to date. Will this last? Probably not but there’s nothing worse than being stuck in front of your computer all afternoon on a Sunday, even if it is to do something good like this.

We went for a walk this morning, nothing like a bit of fresh air and smugly walking past all of the folks in traffic. Come on everyone. It’s Sunday morning, slow down for the right reasons.

I have some lamb left in my freezer that I kept meaning to use up. Having bought half a lamb some time ago I had to use my powers to deduct what cut was what. I did pretty well really, apart from the breast/shoulder(?) issue a while back.

I’ve been wanting to make my own curry for a while as well, I do normally cheat and buy a jar or at least a paste. I saw Mary Berry make this one a few weeks ago but I had taken out some successfully labelled neck from the freezer so did mine slightly different. Here’s hers.

I popped my lamb neck, in about 1½ litres of vegetable stock, in the oven on 140ºc (fan) for about two hours.

When I was ready to make the dhansak I then chopped it up into bite sized pieces.

Fry chopped onion for a few minutes until beginning to soften.

In a processor, whizz up a couple of red chillies, some root ginger and garlic. Then add to the softened onion along with ground green cardamom seeds, ground cumin, ground coriander and ground turmeric. Stir for a couple of minutes then add a tin of chopped tomatoes, some beef stock, red lentils and some honey.

Bring to the boil then pop the lid on and simmer for about half hour.

Add the chopped lamb (add more water if you prefer yours more saucy) and cook for another half hour, add some seasoning if required.

We served ours with rice.

TWD_2704_Lamb_Dhansak

The flavours in this were amazing, just the right level of sweet and spicy.

I also skimmed the fat from the stock that I cooked the lamb in and froze for another day.

Using…LAMB NECK, ONION, ROOT GINGER, GARLIC, RED CHILLIES, CARDAMOM PODS, GROUND CUMIN, GROUND CORIANDER, GROUND TURMERIC, CHOPPED TOMATOES, BEEF STOCK, RED LENTILS, HONEY and RICE.

Any thoughts?

