Shrove Tuesday

I don’t normally do Shrove Tuesday (or Pancake Day) and I have not given anything up for lent, although at the moment, maybe I could count my sanity!

I have had the image of the wonderful crêpe I had in Trouville, Normandy in my mind for a while so I decided that we were definitely partaking this year.

Sift 140g of plain flour & a pinch of salt into a bowl and make a well. Break two eggs into the well and whisk slowly. Steadily add a mix of 200ml of milk and 100ml of water, mixing constantly.

When the batter is smooth, leave to rest for half an hour then add 25g of melted butter.

Lightly grease a pan and heat on a medium. Pop in a ladle of the batter, not a full ladle, enough that when you swirl it around the pan, it creates a nice, thin pancake. Cook for under a minute on one side then flip* (if you can) or carefully turn and do the same on the other. (I’m saying this with a sense of authority but it’s Mr S’ job to do this)

The measurements above should make about 10 pancakes.

I made a savoury one of spinach, feta and crème fraîche and then recreated my French sweet one of lemon and sugar.

TWD_Mar_Pancake_Day

TWD_Mar_Sweet_Pancake

This was dinner…4th March 2014.

Any thoughts?

