Chorizo & Rosemary Pearl Barley Risotto

This meal should have been the one that formed my blog anniversary post and would have been most fitting, it has chorizo in it and it’s taken from my regularly used Good Food magazines.

The intense flavours were fabulous and using pearl barley instead of risotto rice made a great alternative.

Here’s how I did it, or if you prefer a less casually written recipe, it’s here.

Slice a chorizo and fry until it releases it’s oil. Remove from the pan.

Fry chopped onion and garlic in the chorizo oil until softened. Add pearl barley and stir it for a minute or so to coat it. Add a can of chopped tomatoes and some chicken stock. Bring to the boil and then simmer until the pearl barley is tender (about 30 minutes – you might need to add extra water).

Add the chorizo, chopped rosemary leaves, chopped olives and some seasoning.

TWD_Feb_PearlBarley_Risotto

Using ONION, GARLIC, PEARL BARLEY, CHOPPED TOMATOES, CHICKEN STOCK, CHORIZO, ROSEMARY and OLIVES…

This was dinner…26th February 2014.

6 thoughts on “Chorizo & Rosemary Pearl Barley Risotto

    1. Oh no! I don’t know how I’d manage if I couldn’t get chorizo, it’s my absolute favourite. I hope you get some soon, let me know your thoughts on the dish if you do.

Any thoughts?

