French Country Fish & Mussel Stew

Apart from a couple of ‘easy’ meals. Everything comes from BBC Good Food Magazine: February Edition. I think they should pay me an ad fee. I wasn’t even going to buy it this month.

Although I did enjoy it, there is still a little bit of me that worries about cooking mussels. I over think cleaning every single one of them. Is it open? Have I cleaned it right? Did I get the beard? It’s just how I am.

Heat some rapeseed oil in a pan. Add chopped bacon medallions and fry over a high heat. Add fish stock then a good pinch of saffron, diced carrot, chopped celery and thinly sliced leeks. Cook for 10 minutes.

Add fresh chopped tomatoes and a tin of cannellini beans. Cook for another 10 minutes.

Stir in chunks of cod and the mussels and cook until the fish is cooked through and the mussels have opened (around 5 minutes). Add chopped parsley & season.

TWD_Feb_Fish_Stew

I also have to post my lunch, which was the leftover sausage cassoulet and would have been perfect if there had been more than one sausage each in it!

TWD_Feb_Leftover_Lunch

Using RAPESEED OIL, BACON MEDALLIONS, FISH STOCK, SAFFRON,CARROT, CELERY STICK, LEEKS, TOMATOES, CANNELLINI BEANS, COD, MUSSELS & PARSLEY…

This was dinner…1st February 2013.

3 thoughts on “French Country Fish & Mussel Stew

Any thoughts?

