“Lighter” Moussaka with Crunchy Feta & Oregano

 

 

I am sure that this is indeed lighter than your standard moussaka but I’m not going to sit and work it out. The BBC Good Food recipe is here, I didn’t use ‘extra-lean’ or ‘low-fat’ or ‘light’, I just liked the idea of this moussaka.

I’ve been threatening to make one for such a long time. Both Mr S & I have bad memories of childhood moussaka attempts so have been reluctant to try one. He was holding out until the last-minute and even tried to push for a Chinese takeaway but in the end persevered.

If you were to ask him what one of his favourite meals was over Christmas, he would state that this was.

Cook the lamb and remove from the pan. Fry sliced courgette and aubergine then add the meat back to the pan and stir in some red lentils. Add dried oregano and passata, adding a little water if required and a stock ‘cube’ (I used a bit of stock pot).

Cook for around half an hour until the lentils are perfect, add seasoning to taste. Transfer to a baking dish

Mix yoghurt, oregano, feta and seasoning, giving it a good mash then spoon over the meat mixture. Scatter with breadcrumbs then stick under a grill to colour it.

TWD_Dec_LightMoussaka

Using MINCED LAMB, COURGETTE, AUBERGINE, RED LENTILS, PASSATA, FETA, GREEK YOGHURT, DRIED OREGANO, BEEF STOCK ‘CUBE’, BREADCRUMBS & OLIVE OIL…

This was dinner…23rd December 2013.

2 thoughts on ““Lighter” Moussaka with Crunchy Feta & Oregano

  1. Funny, we were talking about moussaka last night. I still claim that it is not to my taste but it’s solely due to my aversion to eggplant. I’m slowly getting to know eggplant now so perhaps it’s time to re-try moussaka.

Any thoughts?

