Golden Glazed Carrot, Mushroom & Hazelnut Tart

I didn’t pay attention to the recipe in the December addition of BBC Good Food, the last 2 items were on a separate column & I didn’t see them, so I had to improvise and use my goats cheese instead of the called for cream cheese.  Once I’m home on an evening there is no way I’m going out again!

Peel some carrots and quarter them lengthways then boil them for 4 minutes. Drain and pop in the oven for about 10 minutes, drizzled with maple syrup.

Score a sheet of pre-made & rolled pastry around the edges and prick all over the middle with a fork. Pop it in the oven on a piece of baking parchment on a baking tray and cook for 12 minutes.

Heat some butter in a frying pan and add a finely chopped shallot then cook until softened. Add finely chopped mushrooms until cooked. Remove from the heat, let them cool if you want but I couldn’t wait. Pop half of this mixture in a processor along with some toasted hazelnuts, the cream cheese (as I used a goats cheese that wasn’t very soft I added some crème fraiche), some seasoning  and some tarragon (I had to use dried) then whizz up. Add the remaining mushroom mixture.

Pop the mixture on the pastry, arrange the carrots on top, drizzle with more maple syrup then pop in the oven for another 12 minutes

Sprinkle with some more chopped hazelnuts and serve.

TWD_Dec_Carrot_Puff

It was like one giant vol au vent, which is right up my street.

This was dinner… 3rd December 2013.

3 thoughts on “Golden Glazed Carrot, Mushroom & Hazelnut Tart

Any thoughts?

