Not So Classic Amatriciana Bucatini

The recipe for what is apparently the classic amatriciana can be found here. I couldn’t be bothered to get the processor out and mess about sieving. I can’t be bothered with much at the moment. I think it’s moving from the cold onto trains that have the bloody heating on full whack. I’m wrapped up for winter for goodness sake! I digress.

So I did mine like this:

Quarter some tomatoes & pop into a saucepan with some olive oil and leave them on a low heat, stirring occasionally. Stick a full red chilli in there, putting a small slit in it first.

Whilst the tomatoes break down, pop some chopped up (very) smokey streaky bacon into a cold pan, turn the heat on and let that cook, only stirring a couple of times. Remove and set aside.

Grate some parmesan. As I was at the end of the block I chucked the rind into the tomato mixture along with some seasoning.

Pop the pasta on to cook, you can take a bit of the water and stick it in the tomato mixture if it’s getting a bit dry. Clearly not classic bucatini as I used spaghetti!

Mix everything together, (removing the whole chilli) including most of the grated parmesan.

Serve sprinkled with the remaining parmesan and some slices of chopped red chilli. 

TWD_Dec_Amatriciana

On another note, it was nice to walk up the street and spy my tree twinkling away.

This was dinner… 2nd December 2013.

Any thoughts?

