Falafels with Pittas & a Sort of Salsa

I’ve been really busy at work and our wifi went down at home so I’ve a fair few postings to do. No wifi is like being in the dark ages. Anyway it’s up and running again now thankfully but work is still busy – ah well – makes the days go faster I suppose.

I don’t know about you but these dark mornings & nights play havoc. I feel like I get in, cook tea & go to bed. I’m finding it hard to muster up gym visits more than once a week too.

Anyway, falafels, I remember I made these and froze them (probably the weekend before) so it was a case of defrost and cook only on the night. Here’s what I did:

Soak 225g of dried chickpeas overnight.

Bring them to the boil rapidly for 20 minutes.

Pop them in a processor with 1 tsp salt. 1 tsp cumin seeds, 1 tsp ground coriander, ½ tsp cayenne pepper and a roughly chopped garlic clove, a big pinch of dried basil & the juice of half a lemon. Pulse it until fine but make sure you don’t turn it into a purée. You could add the egg at the processor stage but I like to do it afterwards to make sure the mixture isn’t too sloppy.

Shape into balls. I then popped them on a foiled plate in the freezer for about an hour transferring them to a freezer bag once I was sure they wouldn’t stick together.

I defrosted them thoroughly before I cooked them for 15 minutes in a 190ºc (fan) oven.

I served them with a sort of salsa of tomatoes, olives, red onion, seasoning and my balsamic reduction, along with the pittas and a dollop of yoghurt.

TWD_Nov_Falafels

They were a little bit dry. It didn’t spoil the meal but I’d add a little more egg next time. I’d added too much the last time I made falafels so I think I over compensated.

This was dinner… 19th November 2013.

Any thoughts?

