Roast Carrot & Parsnip Salad

Well visiting Doncaster Market this morning I got a bit of a shock. I have my favourite stalls & my veg woman had ‘disappeared’. Luckily she had just moved a couple of stalls away so panic over! I needed a LOT of veg this week. It’s my own fault for missing last week.

I’ve made this a few times B.B. (before blogging). It’s a really tasty combination of flavours. It’s a great dish to serve to any vegetarians & looks quite flash too. It’s a Gary Rhodes one this time from his Cookery Year – Autumn into Winter. He cooks his own beetroot but I took a short-cut & bought mine pre-made.

It doesn’t look like a hefty meal but I took this photograph & then piled it high with the remainder of ingredients & stuffed my face full.

Charlotte gave me a load of the rabbit’s leftover carrots again & I immediately thought of this meal.

Peel some carrots, top & tail them. Quarter them lengthways. Do the same with some parsnips but you may have to do more than quarter them if they are as big as the ones I bought.

Plunge the carrots into salted boiling water. After 2 minutes add the parsnips for another 2. Remove from the heat, drain & leave to cool. When ready, pop some oil in a baking dish & brown the carrots & parsnips on the hob top then pop them in a 180ºC(fan) oven for 15 to 20 minutes. Remove from the oven & season – you want to eat them hot – not piping hot.

Cut some beetroot into squares. Toast some walnuts.

Mix a heaped teaspoon of Dijon, 100ml sour cream & 2 tablespoons of sherry vinegar. Then slowing add 100ml of walnut oil, whisking to emulsify. Season with salt & pepper. Gary mixes some of his beetroot with the dressing for a wonderful pink colour but I forgot.

Pop some mixed salad on a plate, arrange your beetroot & walnuts around it. Add your carrots & parsnips then drizzle the dressing around it, topping off with a bit more salad.

The beauty of this is you could stick in whatever is in season.

TWD_Nov_Roast_Veg

We washed it down with a nice bottle of Cava then had some shop bought profiteroles.

This was dinner… 16th November 2013.

Any thoughts?

