Parsnip & Pancetta Spaghetti

I was looking for a pasta dish that was a little bit different to the usual and found this one online  from one of Jamie Olivers Naked Chef books. Then I remembered that I, ahem, borrowed this book from my mum at Easter.

I used spaghetti instead of tagliatelle as I have fallen out with it . I used pancetta lardons instead of slices as I completely forgot when I was shopping.

Here’s how I did mine:

Peel the parsnip and chop into small squares, blanch in salted boiling water then drain. Fry the lardons in a pan then remove. Pop the spaghetti on.

Fry sliced onion in olive oil until soft and golden then add chopped rosemary. Add the parsnip and the pancetta and fry for a few minutes more. Stir in some butter and seasoning.

Drain the spaghetti, reserving some cooking water and add the pasta to the pan, add some grated parmesan and as much of the cooking water as you require.

Serve and season with a bit of pepper and some additional parmesan.

parsnip pasta

I really enjoyed this, Mr S thought it was “OK”, I think that was his cold talking.

This was dinner… 21st October 2013.

5 thoughts on “Parsnip & Pancetta Spaghetti

Any thoughts?

