Sticky Citrus Chicken

Say the word chicken and Mr S is exceptionally happy. I knew I was on to a winner with the word ‘sticky’, when I see this word associated with food I know it’s going to be good.

Heat the oven 180ºC (fan)

Toss chicken thighs, baby carrots, thick cut onion, & oil with some seasoning in a roasting dish. Roast for 20 mins.

In a bowl, mix of 100g honey, 4 tbs chilli sauce, the zest and juice of a lime, the zest of half an orange and a couple of squeezes of the juice, 1 tbs rice vinegar, 1 tbs tomato purée, 2 balls of finely chopped stem ginger and  1 tbs of it’s juice*.

Cover the chicken with the sauce & roast for another 15 mins.

Boil some basmati rice.

Scatter the chicken with cashews and cook for another 15 mins.

When the rice is done fork through finely chopped chilli & spring onion.

I cooked my chicken according to the recipe in October’s BBC Good Food. I have adjusted the cooking time above as I think I cooked it a bit too long.

chicken

This is one of those great meals that takes no effort at all, apart from cleaning the damn pan.

This was dinner… 13th October 2013.

* these are approximates

4 thoughts on “Sticky Citrus Chicken

Any thoughts?

