Pizza Pie

Sometimes, when I dry my hair I start with good intentions. Section off. Dryer in one hand. Brush in the other. Then about four minutes in I discard the brush, tip my head upside down and blast. Job done. I’m like this with anything that requires a bit of patience and creativity. That’s why this pizza is square.

I was determined it would be round, 4 minutes in, I succumbed to it’s squareness.

This has been on my food list for a couple of weeks, due to it’s “anything can go on it” nature, there was no waste buying the ingredients 2 weeks ago. Once again it’s a BBC Good Food job. Here’s mine with slight changes.

I bought a cheap bread mix from Morrisons and used that for my base.

Make the bread mix, I did mine in the Magimix for ease and left to rise for 40 minutes.

Heat the oven to 200ºc (Fan), pop a baking tray in the oven as well.

Roll out 2 balls of dough, one a little smaller than the other.

You could buy a pasta sauce but I made mine using passata seasoned with flaked chilli, garlic salt & salt & pepper.

Get your heated tray out of the oven and pop the larger of your rolled out doughs onto the tray. Ladle on the sauce leaving the edges sauce-free.

Now cover it with what you fancy (or have in the fridge/larder) I used thinly sliced white onion and green pepper, a selection of salami & a couple of slices of pancetta.

Then top with torn mozzarella, dried oregano, finely grated parmesan & black pepper.

Place the other dough on top then just run a wet finger around the edges of the base and fold over and crimp down. Sprinkle with more parmesan.

Bake in the oven for 15 minutes.

pizzapie

Normally when I eat pizza I burn the roof of my mouth but I managed to burn my finger and my cheek from the hot sauce oozing out of the side just for a change!

I had some leftover dough so chucked it in the oven for a spare bread bun.

This was dinner… 11th October 2013.

2 thoughts on “Pizza Pie

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only person that can’t roll out circles, mine tend to look more like splats, that looks really crispy, I want to try that..
    As for my hair, I gave up with a hairdryer and had it all chopped off, now it’s always an inch all over so i don’t even need to style it..lol

Any thoughts?

